Giving Rufus his stripes in DS

I bought a lot of Plushies and Plushies stuff during the recent RDNA sale, including many extras for Rufus. I really wanted the Stripes texture add-on, but it was a Poser-only product. I was resigned, but then I read the description again and thought maybe I could find a work-around.

And I did! It’s not a work-around in DS, and it eats up more disk space than the original Poser material files, but it gets the job done for DS users like me. It involves a little work in PS/PSP. I wish I could simply provide the textures and mat presets, but I can’t — that would be redistribution of a commercial product, which is not allowed.

So I thought I could at least share what I did with other like minded DS users, who may have been pining for a striped Rufus:

Rufus-Gray Rufus-Orange01 Rufus-Orange02

Click to view full-sized image. Instructions/screenshots inside…

From the add-on set, you’ll need these three files: RufTabBase.jpg, RufusStripe.jpg, and Rufus-VelvetBum2a.jpg. That last one is sized at 2034 x 2878, and RufTabBase.jpg and RufusStripe.jpg will need to be resized to 2034 x 2878 to match (uncheck the option to maintain the image ratio.)

First, copy Rufus-VelvetBum2a.jpg and paste as a new image. This will be the first layer/background image. No other work needs to be done on this layer.

rufus-ss-01

Create a new layer, select a color — I started with orange — and flood fill the new layer with it. Go to the layers menu and change the settings to “Normal” at 85% opacity. The new layer should look similar to this:

rufus-ss-02

Next, copy the resized RufTabBase.jpg image and paste it as a new layer over the color layer. Change the new layer settings to “Screen” at 100% opacity. Results should be similar to this:

rufus-ss-03

Next, copy the resized RufusStripe.jpg and paste it as a new layer over the RufTabBase.jpg layer. Change the layer settings to “Multiply” at 50% opacity to achieve the following result:

rufus-ss-04

That’s it! Now just merge/flatten all the layers and save the image as a new texture image, slap it on Rufus, and render away.

IMPORTANT: If you’re planning to make multiple color texture maps, then instead save that original template as either a .pspimage or .psd file. Doing so will maintain the layers and layer settings, so you can go back to the color layer and change it to whatever else you’d like. After each color change, merge the file, copy it, paste it as new image, and save it. Unmerge the original template file and continuing recoloring as desired.

I further edited the new texture files to get darker, deeper colors. I duplicated the new image as a new layer, changed the setting to Soft Light or Overlay, fiddled with the opacity settings until I found something I liked, and then merged the layers and saved the image again. Sometimes I’d duplicate the layer a third time and set that layer’s settings to Multiply at around 10% to 30% opacity.

I also did a little saturation/contrast adjustment, but that’s something left up to personal taste. I like bright colors for toon stuff…and I made sixteen texture maps by the time I was done with this. 😛

Here are my DS settings for my newly created image maps:

  • Diffuse: YourImageMapName.jpg, color: 235, 235, 235, 100%
  • Specular: 80%, 125, 125, 125, 25%, and using Rufus-VelvetBum2a.jpg as a specular map in the glossiness channel only.
  • Ambient: 100, 100, 100 at 10%
  • Bump: Rufus-VelvetBum2a.jpg at 100% strength, -0.1 , 0.1
  • Displacement: Rufus-VelvetBum2a.jpg at 25% strength
  • No reflection maps.
  • Lighting Model: Metallic

Hope this makes sense. Feel free to ask any questions.

Leave a Reply

