Dusk M4 clone pose

Teamwork

DOWNLOAD

Usage: Unrestricted use.

Required: Create a V4 Clone for Dawn Tutorial (DS4 only)

 Info: Dusk/M4 alignment pose for use with the tutorial. Not perfect, but it gets the job done. Feel free to modify or improve upon it. If you do so, please let me know!

Re: the Xurge3D sets in the above example, I had to hide body parts for both Dawn and Dusk, but I frequently do this with V4 and M4, too, and they’re the figures these suits were made for. I corrected some chest distortions in PSP.

My advice is to use poses and body shapes that aren’t extreme, poses that don’t distort the chest/neck area too much, and resign yourself to doing a little postwork. For PSP users, the warp brush tool is your friend. Same goes for the liquify tool in PS.

Credits: coflek-gnorg’s spaceship segments (I forget which ones; I use saved scenes of connected sections I made years ago); KiriTe Hair II, Daria for Dawn, Zac Hair, GearHeadset M4, A.T.A.C.S. Suit M4, and A.T.A.C.S. Suit for V4.

21 thoughts on “Dusk M4 clone pose

  1. You’re welcome! Hope it helps, despite its imperfections. I was determined to get some of M4’s clothing on Dusk because it’s pretty clear by now that an actual Dusk wardrobe is going to be limited to what the HiveWire folks create. Which is too bad, because he’s a nice figure and deserves better vendor support.

    Maybe I’ll be wrong about this. Hope springs eternal!

    (Though I’d still pay money for a decent clothing refit.)

    • Male figures tend to get way less support than their female counterparts, which is sad.

      I think there is a CrossDresser licence, but I am not sure if it could anyhow help with using the DS version of Dusk.

      • The CrossDresser license isn’t compatible with the DS weight-mapped figure, though it works in a limited capacity. Since I don’t do bulky or overly-muscled male renders, the clone is probably the more workable option for me.

        My preference would be to buy clothes (I like and would use) for Dusk, but there’s next to nothing available for him. Getting him into M4’s extensive wardrobe — extensive at least in my runtime, ha! — therefore became a necessity.

        RDNA just released a couple pose sets for Dusk as Real Deals. DAZ Studio isn’t listed as supported, but I have one of IGD’s pose sets for Dawn, which works fine, so it’s probably safe to pick them up.

        I don’t usually have trouble with pz2 files on the weight mapped figures in DS, but sometimes weird things happen. It’s as if the feet are locked to the ground plane and then the limbs get grossly distorted when the pose is applied.

        • I see. I use CrossDresser a _lot_ for “oldschool” figures like Gen3, and it would have been awesome if they included support for DS weight mapped ones. But EvilInnocence is a vendor with a history of strong Poser preference, so I guess it’s not likely to happen.

          • Yeah, with the split between the two platforms a lot of the older go-to utilities will no longer be as useful. I did buy the CrossDresser license for Star and it works okay on pants and shirts — as far as I’ve can tell so far — but it fails on anything skirted or just with movements around the hips.

            Still works fine for all those older figures, though!

            Maybe there’s something that can be done to help with this new limitation in DS4 — I’ve noticed weight-mapping utilities, but I admit I’m not up to speed on all the new stuff in DS4.

            One reason I keep telling myself to stop buying content for a while and learn to use DS4. And Hexagaon; I picked it up for $1.99 some years back and I’ve never learned to use it.

            • Hexagon is a lovely little app. Using it for morphing and simple modeling shouldn’t be too difficult to learn, I’d say – the manual is nice, and the interface makes sense. It gets more time-consuming when it comes to UV mapping complex models, though.

              I wonder why DS4 has all those issues importing Poser 10 type of WM stuff. You can export to Poser WM but it does not import correctly. It’s a mystery, to me.

              But then, of course,I’m not much of a rigging artist, to whom the answer may be obvious.

              • Hexagon has a manual? 😯 How did I miss this? Is it still around?

                Most of DS4 is a mystery to me. User manuals, DAZ…they’re especially useful for those of us who are a little slow with the tech stuff.

                I’m glad the alpha issue was fixed, and it’s better than in DS3. But now I’ve discovered parenting something to a null doesn’t work the same as it did in DS3. Sigh.

                • Yes, it is:
                  http://docs.daz3d.com/lib/exe/fetch.php/public/software/hexagon/2/userguide/hexagon_manual_us.pdf

                  The only way I ever used a null for was to logically arrange stuff in the scene, mostly lights, so I can’t say what has changed exactly re:nulls between DS3 and DS4. Depending on what you were using them for… There are “groups” in DS4 now (DS4.7), maybe they could help you?

                  Basically, the biggest problem I had when transitioning from DS3 to DS4 was that pesky “custom” colours. I hate light text on dark backgrounds, so I spent quite some time setting them up. Other than that, the devs are mostly adding stuff rather than really changing it.

                  And when it comes to weight mapping, I actually find it easier to learn than oldschool Poser rigging. Weight mapped figures don’t require you to group your clothing meshes laboriously, and adjusting is more intuitive. But then again, I was never an expert, so I don’t have much to _re_learn.

  2. Thanks for the link! Wow, 295 pages…looks like it’s not just a basic overview, either. Downloaded…

    I wouldn’t mind learning to make a simple figure, but I’ve never really had much interest in learning to make or rig clothing. But baby steps…gotta figure out how to use Hex first.

    I think the groups function replaced the null that I used in DS3 — if I have characters and props posed together and then need to move them, I would parent everything to a null and then move the null where I needed it to go. I’ve also discovered (the hard way) that you now need to parent props or hair to a figure before you fit or pose them.

    I dislike light text on dark screens too; it’s hard on my eyes. I did get things to work better for me in DS4, though it’s still kind of a pain to have to bounce around so many content directories. I use the old tree directory format, so that makes it a little easier, but it still takes me more time to set up scenes in DS4 than in DS3.

    • I still keep DS3 around for a few reasons, one of them being maintaining a database (“categories”) for non-DS4 content, which I then reimport into DS4. Then I only have the DS4 native directory with DS4-only content to worry about, and all the other things are still there in my familiar structure. But of course, categories aren’t for everyone because setting them up involves extra manual work.

      • Since I frequently use Gen4, I simply find it easier to work with them in DS3; nearly all of my content is in a single (Poser) directory and I know, by now, how all my lights and shaders work so it’s easier to get the exact result I want.

        But I really really need to learn how to use DS4 and all its newest features.

        I’m putting myself on a content purchasing moratorium for the rest of the summer (unless Steel and Luna come out in that time, or if DAZ, for some insane reason, puts Darius, Monique, Lee or Mei Lin in Fast Grab for $10 or under, ha!)

        • The good thing is lights and shaders work the same in both versions. You just need to install the DS4 files for those that are not ShaderMixer networks (like pwSurface and UberSurface2, the paid-for one).

          I find that DS4’s smoothing modifier helps a lot with the older generations (sometimes even more than with Genesis): Genesis has autofit, and older figures don’t. I’ve never been able to get decent results with fitting clothing to custom characters by using the morph transfer function in DS3, and running every piece through MorphingClothing quickly gets tiresome. Smoothing modifier can be of great help.

          And who are Steel and Luna?

          • Steel is Star’s official male counterpart and Luna is the new HiveWire baby figure. I want both!

            I have found some of my DS3 lights don’t work quite the same in DS4, though I’m sure it’s because I’ve messed up something. I have a lot of trouble with UberHair too, and I did upgrade the DS4 version.

            You make a good point about the smoothing modifier. Morph follower in DS3 works pretty well for me because I don’t often use body types that are extreme or heavily modified, though I’ve noticed it doesn’t work as well when SP4’s morphs are added to a mix.

            I don’t think I’ll ever delete DS3, but I’m sure I’ll move on to DS4 once I get handier at using it.

            Which isn’t going to happen if I keep buying and installing stuff rather than render stuff.

            Sigh. I have Bryce 7 and Carrara Express as well, and I haven’t used those either. Howie Farkes has a bunch of pretty landscape sets that work in Carrara Express (or at least I think they do; I bought one of them ages ago) and I should do something more with Carrara too.

            Maybe I’m finally reaching a too-much-content tipping point…

            • Could you pinpoint what exactly the lights do differently, and what sort of trouble you run into with UberHair? I might be able to help.

              DS3 still has a number of useful tools that were never ported to DS4, like InjectPMD or Tofusan’s free LuxRender exporter (which looks to be the easiest to use, although doesn’t come with that many flashy presets etc).

              Carrara is a very nice program that can do a lot (I like its spline modeling capability and the landscaping parts), but I have grown way less fond of its render engine over the years: the DNA Research guys have spoilt me with all the innovation and optimisation they keep pouring into 3Delight; the DAZ guys simply don’t have the manpower to dedicate to updating Carrara’s engine or even simply fixing certain issues it has had since C6.

              • I’d have to go back and check re: lights. I seem to remember the uber lights I used most often in DS3 just didn’t look quite the same, tho they render considerably faster in DS4. I also have a lot of trouble with the Genesis 2 eyes and light sets, though I think it’s mostly with Age of Armour’s. The eyes glow white, no matter what I do in the surfaces to try and stop it.

                I also have a lot more trouble with visible seams for character textures, which was never a problem in DS3. I think that has to do with shadow sampling values? I should make a permanent note on how to fix that, but I keep forgetting.

                As for the UberHair, results are more plastic-looking to me than with the older version. I generally fiddle with the settings anyway, but what I did in DS3 to make the hair look less plastic doesn’t work as well in the DS4 version. I doubt there’s anything wrong with the products; I’m sure it’s me doing something wrong and needing to figure out what that is — and that’s all part of just sitting my butt down and using the program more often.

                I forgot about the inject PMD. Yup; that one’s hugely important for me for a number of things I have installed, which wouldn’t be useable in DS4.

                I bought Carrara Express just to do landscapes, so I think it would still meet my needs. I just have to use it!

                • You know, the symptoms you describe make me think shading rate might be too high in your DS4 installation. Have you checked the render settings pane to make sure? There are tutorial scenes where shading rate is set to 1, and when they load it becomes a new default; and it’s way too high for what we do. It should be about 0.5 for best results. Shadow sampling will never affect seams (as in, UV seams, right?), it’s only meaningful for soft shadows and nothing else (and then, only for those light shaders that don’t have their own sampling controls – like default DS lights found in the “create” menu; lights like Uber or AoA’s ones are not affected). But shading rate will affect everything.

                  Then there are pixel samples, though I think the default settings have always been high enough (at least 6).

  3. Shading rate! That’s what I meant! Shading, shadow…they sound similar enough for me to screw that up all the time. I am technically deficient.

    I will check that, thanks!

    Edited to add: Sure enough, shading rate was set to 1.0

    • Glad you have it sorted out now. =)
      And you shouldn’t really be saying that sort of things about yourself. I’m sure that if you had gone through a (well-structured) 3D training course, you would have no problems telling the words apart.It’s just that, being hobbyists, we have information dumped upon our heads without any coherent system. Unfortunately.

      But when it comes to shading vs shadow, you can think back to your art classes (I think everyone had some in secondary school): it’s still the same shading (making a flat drawing look three-dimensional and realistic), it’s just that instead of using a pencil to shade your picture, you instruct the computer to do it.

      • If I were more handy with a lot of the inner workings of DS, I probably would better remember the details. But I am still a bit tragic when it comes to technical stuff. If math is involved, I’m doooomed. :/

        Thanks for the info on shading vs shadow; I hadn’t thought of it that way. I only had art classes when I was little. I made lots of little clay things only a mother could love, lol! All my art classes in college were history-related, not technique. I have zero art training; I’m about as hobbyist as one can get.

        • I didn’t have any formal art classes past secondary school either, but my teacher must’ve been a good one when it came to explaining ideas. (These words are confusing in Russian, too)

Leave a Reply

