Theme: Steampunk Fairy Tales

Steampunk_Fairy_Tales_TX

A mash-up theme inspired by…I have no idea. It just popped into being. I think I’ll have some freebies for this one too. First, though, a listing of commercial and free items that I own and have installed. This isn’t a comprehensive list by any means, but I hope it’ll spark a few ideas. (See Steampunk Kit-Bashing Central for more resources.)

SPFT_Beauty+Beast SPFT_Prince_Charming SPFT_The_Huntsman SPFT_Beauty+Beast_Detail

I included a number of commercial products that are no longer available for sale. Mostly to jog the memory in case these have gotten as lost in your runtime as they have in mine (and sometimes vendors may be willing to sell a discontinued item if asked; it doesn’t hurt to politely inquire.)

Modes of Transportation

vehicles_pc-steam-house vehicles_pc-steam-aircraft-dragon vehicles_pc-spirit-of-punk vehicles_rmp-steam-coach vehicles_arc-steam-dodo

Steam House || Steam Aircraft Dragon || Spirit of Punk || Steamcoach (not available) || Steam Dodo (not available)

Notes: Maybe these props are what inspired the theme!

Knights in Shining Armor, Gallant Steeds, and Menacing Dragons

m4cl_aremar-steam-armor animals_osk-hell horse textures_solaris-soul-nexus-bonus animals_pc-steam-dragon

Steam Powered Armor (no longer available) || HellHorse || Bonus texture from Soul Nexus Armor || Steam Dragon.

Notes: The HellHorse is a bit of a PIA to use in DS because its materials are Poser-only, but I’ve managed to get some decent results.

Thematically-Related Textures

m3cr_samil-anu-blue-rust mil3cr_maskedit_xtreme-skins-1 v3c4_samil-fime v3cr_samil-naiya-october-rust v3cr_sydd-gloria-industrial-age m3cr_sydd-industrial-age m4cr_raw-tin-man v4cr_samil-ina v4cr_rdna-mechanica-5-bundle v4cr_mrl-adena

Anu Blue Rust (not available) || XTreemeSkin 1 (not available) || Fime (not available) || Naiya October Rust (not available) || Gloria Industrial Revolution || Industrial Man, Tin Man || Rusty Dreams || Mechanica No. 5 || Adena

Notes: I didn’t want ordinary looking princesses, princes, or evil witches and queens, so I went digging around for some of my weirder character textures.

Extra Details

eyeware_cybten-steampunk-implants peoplebits_ant-sp-airman headware_jonnte-sp-mask eyeware_jonnte-steampunk-goggles headware_jonnte-steampunk-tophat headware_smay-steam-pilot props_faveral-nautical headware_arcebus-torpedo-hat headware_traveler-breathless peoplebits_samil-eyez-v4

Steampunk Implants || SP AirMan || Steampunk Protective Mask || Steampunk Goggles || Steampunk Top Hat || Steam Pilot || Dive helmet from Nautical Bric-a-Brac || Torpedo (no longer available) || Technophilia – Breathless || V4 Eyez

Notes: I have lots of other goggles and steampunk-ish headware that came with various outfits, but didn’t include them here.

Scene-Setting Props

scene_cyberten-steampunk-castle scene_1971s-Hydrogen-Station scene_daveo-steampunk-wall scene_1971s-rock-house scene_af-never-home scene_pc-steam-works scene_lukea-clock-tower tech_trav-electro-apparati scene_dm-inertia backdrop_AF-base-camp-vol-1

Steampunk Castle || Hydrogen Station || Steampunk Wall || Rock House || Never Home || Steamworks || Steampunk Clock Tower || Electro Apparati || DM Inertia || and the cog base from Base Camp Vol 01

Notes: Castles, towers, throne rooms, hovels where witches plot the destruction of princesses, and general scene-setting props. I have more scenes similar to these — including the entirety of AntFarm’s Never series — but these are a pretty decent representative selection from my runtime.

Mechanical Soldiers, Dwarfs, Huntsmen, & Fairy Godmothers

figures_af-work-bot figures_pc-steam-mech figures_1971s-miss-pannikin figures_jonnte-steampunk-guardian

WorkBot || Steam Mech || Miss Pannikin || Steampunk Guardian

Notes: I didn’t have a lot of “Mechanicals,” but I’m sure there are others that would work equally well.

Stuff I don’t have, but wouldn’t mind acquiring if I suddenly won the lottery

DM Clockwork, DM Eclectica, Steam Outpost, Steampunk Cryo Chamber (for Sleeping Beauty or Snow White, of course), Steampunk Office Equipment, Steampunk Shop Clutter, Steampunk Explosives, War Unicorns, Steam Pirate (Captain Hook!), a huge Steam Sword for the equally huge Steam Powered Armor, Steam Betty (she’s fantastic; why don’t I own her?!), ClariceRagnorok Mask, Mechanical Doll Wings, Druid Wings, Tube Long Skirt, and Caged for Imprisonment (which I own.)

Free Stuff??

While I don’t have lots, there’s enough for a mini-theme. This time the freebies are listed inside…

Modes of Transportation

vehicles-steampunk coach vehicles-sp underwater bike vehicles-fantasy airship vehicles-sp-scout-balloon

Steampunk Coach || Underwater Bike || Fantasy Airship || Scout Balloon

Notes: The first one is a good match for Steamcoach listed above. Maybe Ariel cruises around on her underwater bike looking for cute princes. And maybe Rapunzel is imprisoned on a balloon instead of in a tower (that would pose quite a challenge for the prince.)

Knights in Shining Armor, Gallant Steeds, and Menacing Dragons

textures-steampunk sith headware-Victorian Rifleman Helm V4 props-steampunk-sheriff-star-cog weapons-steam-betty-arm-gatling-guntextures-dieselpunk-comet

Steampunkish textures for the TY2 outfit for M4, V4, and G2M || Victorian Rifleman Helm || Steampunk Sheriff Cog-Star || Arm Gatling Gun || Diesel Punk textures for Hailey’s Comet

Notes: I didn’t find a lot of analogous freebies, especially for the armor and dragons. I included both M4 and V4 for the TY2 outfit because who says the knight has to be male? It’s more diesel punk, but still works. Maybe the KISA is a soldier or a sheriff who has a gun for an arm and rides a mechanical horse.

Extra Details

eyeware-sp-phantom-mask-m4 props-adventure-gear eyeware-sp goggles 2014 eyeware-sp goggles v3 headware-dive-tank-helmet headware-sp-gallon-hat ArtDecoWings textures-wanted doa sp mad scientist

Steampunk Phantom Mask M4 || Adventure Gear || Steampunk Goggles 2014 || Uber Goggles V3 || Diving Helmet || Steampunk Gallon Hat V4 || Art Deco Wings || Steampunk Mad Scientist textures for DAZ’s Wanted Dead or Alive M4

Notes: I suspect there are more of these types of freebies out there than what I’ve downloaded and installed.

Mechanical Soldiers, Dwarfs, Huntsmen, & Fairy Godmothers

textures-bco steampunk figures-andromeda-exp textures-workbot props-the-eye

Steampunk Gynoid textures for the B-CO Humanoid || Andromeda Expanded AD2095 morphs and textures for Andromeda || J0-DRT textures for the WorkBot || The Eye

Notes: Andromeda is more sci-fi than steampunk, but the AD2095 set has some nice rusty textures that could work for a Mechanical.

Odds-N-Ends

backdrop-Cog base props-industiral-age-luna-cages Tech-Air Kraken Barometer tech-old-airship-radio tech-steampunk computer tech-The Switch props-skeleton keys poses-m4v4 beauty & beast

Steampunk Cog Base || Industrial Age: Luna Cages || Air Kraken Barometer || Old Airship Radio || Steampunk Computer || The Switch || Skeleton Keys for DS4 / Poser || Beauty and the Beast pose set for V4/F4

Notes: Wasn’t sure how much the gadgetry would come in handy, but some might be useful for a steampunk version of the Wizard of Oz. Mechanicals may need keys to wind up their gears. The B&B pose set is perfect for fairy tale swooning, especially if your Beast is a Mechanical.

Anybody have a favorite steampunk-themed product to suggest, free or commercial? Please post a comment and share! I’m sure there’s more stuff somewhere I haven’t bought or noticed yet. 😛

12 thoughts on “Theme: Steampunk Fairy Tales

  1. Love, love, LOVE this 🙂 SP is my very favourite genre and I have a runtime chocka with it. I have all the freebies you posted plus a huge assortment of bought jobbies. Can’t wait to download your SP shaders when I go ashore. Thanks to DAZs 50% off I scored Wanted Dead or Alive and at RDNA I finally got Littlefox’s Steampunk for V4. I have all her other SP sets too. Oh this is soooo exciting, I need to go and have a lay down 😉

    • I legit LOL’d at your “I need to go and have a lay down.” Blog comment of the year!

      I love steampunk too, though I could never afford to indulge in the costuming and cosplaying part of it. Instead, I play with 3D dolls, ha!

      One of the most useful things about the Wanted Dead or Alive coat is that it has a length morph. I LOVE that. LF’s Steampunk is also really versatile for the kit-bashing thing; the corset/overskirt works with other skirts, leather pants, and bloomers…if you dial negatives on a couple of the Flare skirt morphs, you can flatten it out some and make it a little longer.

      I do wish there were more short jackets, or jackets with wide-flared bottoms to fit over skirts.

  2. Haha! I’m always having to go and have a lay down! I used to say ‘lie down’ till I started hanging out with some Poms from Kent…they’ve corrupted my h’inglish!

    Regarding short jackets. I use the one from LadyBlaze a lot and I got Happily Ever After just for the jacket. I really wanted to get SP Sonja but it’s disappeared.

  3. Accents are lovely things! My favorite part of my visit to the UK was the day trip to Scotland. I was like, “Oh, I’m just going to sit here next to you people and listen to you talk. Don’t mind the crazy American.”

    SP Sonja isn’t ringing any bells. What did it look like?

Leave a Reply

