Poser mat conversion issues

Hmm…apparently the Create Poser Mats converter I use to make the mc6 files only works on cr2’s, not prop pp2’s.

The documentation for the converter doesn’t have any mention of this, so I’m at a loss as to how to work around the problem. It’s frustrating because when I manually check files in a text editor, they look like they should be functioning. Why would they not work on pp2 props? This makes no sense to me.

Regardless, it’s pointless for me to continue to distribute Poser materials for pp2 props, so I’ll stick to cr2 figure props only. I feel badly about that, but I don’t know what else to do.

Most of what I make are clothing textures and they are all cr2’s, so there is that. But the free headphones mc6 files I uploaded yesterday probably don’t work. Crisis averted! Headphones updated — please download again if you got them prior to my hissy fit post. Sorry for the inconvenience!

Argh! This is so frustrating. 😡  Now just 😳

DS can read pz2 files and DS4 can read mc6 files. Pity that doesn’t work going in the other direction. It would make things a little easier for those of use who just want to use stuff!

Edited to add: Okay, thanks to Lyrra, I now understand that I have to change mtlcollection (on line 6/7) to actor $CURRENT — so now all I have to do is update some zip files. Oh, joy.

3 thoughts on “Poser mat conversion issues

    • Thanks, Lyrra. I read it, but I’m still a bit confused. Should I be changing the “mtlcollection” to “actor $Current” before saving the mc6 files? Or should I be changing “mtlcolelction” to “actor $CURRENT” and then saving it as a pz2 file instead of a mc6?

      I didn’t get Esha’s response. Why should parenting the prop make difference? And what if it’s a prop that’s not meant to be parented, like a sofa or something?

      I guess I’m easily befuddled. 😕

      • Never mind; I answered my own question! I changed exactly that, and now the materials work!

        Now I have to go trawl through the site and figure out what files need updating. Ugh.

        But I’m glad it’s an easy fix!

Leave a Reply

